Q is for Quiet. It’s Always The Quiet Ones . . . Being a Writer

Writers - It's always the quiet ones!
Writers – It’s always the quiet ones!

As a writer we need to have the ability to disappear in to the background. To observe. To extract meaning from body language, action and reaction. To study human relationships. To unearth great dialogue. To ask the ‘what-if’ questions and let our imaginations run free. All in the pursuit of the story. Which means, we need to know when to shut up and listen to let our senses do the work.

That’s not to say we’re all shrinking violets, too introvert to go out in to the world – far from it. But most of us have a natural tendency to just hang back a little, take in the scene and happily fulfill our roles as ‘The Quiet Ones’.

What do you think? Do you find it easy to fade in to the periphery and enjoy watching the world go by? Are you secretly one of  ‘The Quiet Ones’? To help you decide, have a read of this short poem I wrote.

The Quiet Ones

They scrabble for note books to scribble down words.

Picking up phrases for stories unheard.

They listen intently, pretend not to pry,

But they’re collecting your business

To tell some more lies.

They orbit the action, observe the absurd,

They dine on depravity, reality interred.

You think you catch whispers and glances then gone.

The quiet ones are writers

And right where they belong.



This was my 17th post for the A-Z Blog Challenge. Follow the blog during April for more writing tips, inspirational life posts, short fiction, film-inspired articles and more songs with audio recordings. Next post – R is for Red, White and Blue (song)

14 thoughts on “Q is for Quiet. It’s Always The Quiet Ones . . . Being a Writer

Add yours

  1. Ahh, of course.. that explains why I didn’t start writing till in my 50’s (yes, old wise one..), took me a while to learn not to be so full on and shut up occassionally..

  2. That is a very lovely poem! It captures the essence of a writer, exactly!

    I’m not as quiet as I used to be, but I’m always listening and recording everything I hear and see in my mind, to be written later. 🙂

    1. Oh yes – I’ve seen your mug on one of your posts – so true. I get a kick out of putting real people in my stuff and I also have a thing about names. I love to find interesting or funny names.

  3. Hello, Kelly! I like to listen and observe, but I like talking and asking questions, too. I just don’t like talking about myself! I like hearing what other people have to say. There’s always a good story idea just waiting to be discovered if you open your eyes, mind, ears, and close your mouth.

    Happy A to Z-ing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

    1. Hi Laura – yes, my teacher always used to say “You have 2 ears and one mouth – use them in that order!” Thanks for reading and commenting. I’ll be sure to swing by to see what you have been up to.

  4. Love the poem. I’d say I’m one of the quiet ones, though most of my story ideas come from my head, not from people watching. My imagination seems far more fertile than the people around me. I tend to like my friends calm too, LOL.

    Rinelle Grey

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑