Y is for YOU, dear reader!

Having run out of images I decided to post a pic of my daughter instead!
Having run out of images I decided to post a pic of my daughter instead!

Yes, this penultimate A-Z post is dedicated to YOU, the people that actually make the effort to read and comment and share all of this content that I have been producing.

One of the main reasons I wanted to undertake the A-Z challenge was to breathe some life back in to my often neglected old blog. I created the site way back in 2009 but my commitment to writing for it has been sporadic, at best and by producing 26 posts over the space of a few weeks I now no longer have the excuse that I have nothing to write about. I’ve demonstrated to myself that, given the structure and agreed timescales, I can take a subject and (hopefully) craft a piece that is both relevant and interesting to others.

Whilst I don’t plan to be quite so prolific with my posts (don’t worry – I won’t be bothering you with a deluge of daily posts for a while), I do want to impose more structure and regularity to my content.

I have already begun weekly posts featuring flash fiction and other results of my weekly writing group. In addition, I have started to pen a regular flash fiction series with a comedy/horror theme called Don of The Dead, and I would also like to create some more writing-specific posts, as and when I get the time. And for the next month I will be posting short updates on the #15kinmay challenge I am undertaking with two fellow writers – more info on May 1st.

So, in closing, I want to thank any and all of you who landed here, read my posts, shared and got involved in the conversation. My favourite part of the challenge has been meeting such a range of fascinating and inspiring people. There are far too many of you to mention here, but here are just a handful of the regular visitors who helped to make this challenge so fun and rewarding:

First Draft Cafe

Lynne Lives

Rinelle Grey

DJ Kirkby

Dee Coded

Catherine Noble

Rebecca Bradley

And many, many more – take a look at my twitter feed to find them all.

Thanks a million. What have your best bits of the challenge been? What have you enjoyed most? Can you remember any of my other posts – are there any particular ones that stood out? Please comment below.

This has been part of the A-Z Blogging Challenge for 2013 – only one more post to go tomorrow – Z is for Zero, the word count no one wants to see!

20 thoughts on “Y is for YOU, dear reader!

Add yours

  1. Wow, your daughter is a good hooper! Some people at work want to hoop (as a team) at this years Race for Life. I’m not keen, I’d rather just run because that is hard enough! It’s been nice blogging with you too and I hope we carry on interacting with each other and the rest of our gang.

  2. Aww thank you for the mention! I have indeed enjoyed reading your posts and intend to continue doing so after the challenge is over. Looking forward to your future projects. 🙂

  3. Good morning! Thank you for the shout out, its been a roller coaster ride hasn’t it? I have loved visiting all the lovely blogs and will continue after the challenge, as and when I can check in…

    Great capture of your daughter, they grow so quickly don’t they?

    Time moves at an alarming rate, but at least we can look back on our blogs, and say, ‘we did this!’ Trust me, its great to check back on your posts and see what you were up to last year, or the year before…

    Happy Monday!

    http://www.firstdraftcafe.blogspot.co.uk

  4. Thank YOU MrKelly! I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog, and getting to know you. And I look foward to seeing where your blog goes from here,

    And that is a cool picture of your daughter with her hoop, I love the way you can see the motion blur!

    Rinelle Grey

    1. Thanks Rinelle – much appreciated and the feeling is mutual. You also get bonus points for commenting on the motion blur – took a bit of experimentation with the shutter speed to get that shot!

  5. If you’re interested in weekly or semi-weekly flash fiction, you might try the hashtag group #fridayflash. They’re a pretty nice writing group and blog hop that operates on that day of the week.

    Good luck post-A-to-Z! I think you’ve done swimmingly.

    John at The Bathroom Monologues

    1. Hi John – cheers. Yes, I’ve heard #flashfriday mentioned before and I will definitely take a look. Flash fiction is pretty new for me, but I love writing it and it’s great for a quick read too. Thanks for the tip and I look forward to keeping up with your blog after the challenge.

  6. I find that as long as I post up at least once a week the blog ticks over nicely. Any more and people glaze over, any less and they forget about you. I’m actually looking forward to getting back to my usual blog posts. It’s quite an ask to keep up one theme for a whole month. We”ve done well, though, haven’t we!

  7. Oh the serendipity of our posts! 🙂 Thank you very much for the mention, I’m thrilled to have found your blog through the A to Z Challenge and look forward to following you on your writing journey. 15k in may sounds intriguing, good luck with it!

  8. How did I miss this.. Great pic of your daughter. Hope she agrees! Huge thanks for the mention. 15kinMay you say hope you find some great bloggers to do that with,.. tee hee.. I have no idea what word counts are available.. 500 a day should be addupable in your brain surely, and we’ll remind you where you’re at!

    1. Sssh! My daughter doesn’t know – I forgot that I also sneaked in a pic of her on my O post – and she will kill me. Still, if she bothered to take notice of what I posted on Twitter she would already have spotted it! Addupable?! Good word. It’s not the arithmetic I need the help with Lynne – it’s my inner geek that likes to see the target diminishing and being able to see the days reducing etc. My inner geek will not be denied!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑