Giving myself a stern talking to – Write Up to Date #5

Get a grip!
Get a grip!

It’s time to give myself a stern talking to.

It’s been a few weeks since my last update and that isn’t good enough. I detailed the reasons for my malaise in that post, and won’t repeat them again. In any case, it doesn’t matter. For ‘reasons’ read ‘excuses’. The time for procrastination has passed.

In terms of actual fiction writing – putting pen to paper, or type to screen – my output has been non-existent. Poor show. This will be rectified this week.

I did write another blog post, which means I at least hit one of my targets. I have also submitted TWO stories to the Writing Magazine Crime competition. They both required heavy edits to fit the word count, but I’m confident that they are both all the better for it.

On a positive note, our regular weekly podcast Joined Up Writing, is going from strength to strength, with a growing listenership and loads of exciting developments coming up. If you haven’t already, please head over to have a listen and subscribe.

So, this week I am going to ease back in to some Wordsmithery with a little free writing – just to get the juices flowing again and to limber up for some more strenuous activity. No hard word count goal this week – the aim is to JUST WRITE SOMETHING! If I don’t pull myself out of this creative lethargy in double-quick time, I’m in danger of losing all of my momentum.

Finally, I want to give a big thank you to my literary sparring partner, Maria Smith for giving me weekly jabs (via email) to make sure I’m not laid out for the count. She too is feeling the rigours of everyday life jostling for your writing time and always makes time to check-in on her writing friends.

I’m lucky to have a good network of writers and creatives around me to keep pushing me to run that extra mile. I’ve been down, but I’m not out. (What a delightful collection of mixed metaphors this post has been!)

How have you all been faring in my absence? How do you deal with creative dips in your life?

6 thoughts on “Giving myself a stern talking to – Write Up to Date #5

Add yours

  1. What’s happened has gone. Its what you do next that’s important. I keep telling myself that, but the same things still interfere. You can only do your best, stay focused and keep in the fight. Looks like you are doing that. My latest ‘Escape Line’ post was mega late but I’ve done a hefty catch up on that now. Will be good to hear the next part of your manuscript on Saturday.

    1. Hi Keith. Thanks for words of support. You have done fantastically well with your novel and your Escape Line posts are always so meticulously researched, that I never fail to be impressed with how you get them out so regularly. Keep up the good work.

  2. Oh there you are…so good of you to join us.
    Only joking, seriously good that you have returned, and great news about Joined Up Writing too. I’ve been listening, and they are very good episodes.

    I have to take my hat off to you on subbing two stories to Writing Magazine, well done, and it counts as writing when you’re editing you know, so you’ve done more that you think…

    Welcome back, now lets see what you can get out of the free writing you have planned. By the way, I do like ‘wordsmithery’ I might have to start using that word.

    Have a good week.

  3. Aaaaaah, there you were! Was just about to leave a jabby sort of message when I realised you hadn’t updated for a bit.
    Glad to hear you’re pushing on again and kudos for submitting both stories! I ended up faffing around so much that I didn’t send either of the ones I wanted to send. Faaaaaaaail.

    Ah well, next time, right?

    As for free writing, good call. I wonder sometimes if just writing ‘for the fun of it’ rather than always ‘for something’ is one of the ways to limber up the writing muscle and get more down in the long term. Either way, good to hear you’re writing something. 🙂

    1. Cheers Leah – doing the podcast with you is a constant reminder and inspiration that I need to be writing. PS – saw your letter in Writing Mag this month!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑